Slug-Lines.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General Slugging Questions and Comments > General Slugging Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Request to Study HOV

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
New Slug
New Slug

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Request to Study HOV
    Posted: 17 Aug 2003 at 5:39am
The following email was sent to me for posting on the website:

Dr. Gridlock,

I live in Fredericksburg & commute to the Pentagon. I have been using the HOV lanes since July 2000, & the change in the amount of traffic & congestion has increased dramatically.

The "1998 Performance of Regional High-Occupancy Vehicle Facilities on Interstate Highways in the Washington Region, An Analysis of Person and Vehicle Volumes, April 21, 1999" reported "HOV facilities are currently operating at a high level of service, and providing substantial time savings relative to alternative LOV facilities. Expressed on a per-mile basis, the savings range from approximately 0.5 minutes per mile to just over 1.4 minutes per mile. For travelers making use of the full length of these facilities, the savings range from 5 to 12 minutes on I-270, from 17 to 28 minutes on I-66, and from 34 to 39 minutes on I-95/I-395". I would like your help/guidance in getting VDOT to initiate a new survey/analysis. Based on the increased amount of traffic over the last few years & the "new" higher speed limit in the HOV lanes, I'm sure that their estimate is no longer valid.