Slug-Lines.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General Slugging Questions and Comments > Morning Slug Lines
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Horner Road (Pentagon, Crystal City, Rosslyn)

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
New Slug
New Slug

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alexis Miller Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2003 at 12:50am
The slug lines are GREAT!!! [:D] I am new to slugging and I love the system but would like to see some changes to improve the morning pick-up for pentagon/rosslyn slug line. Most mornings when I arrive there is a long line of cars waiting to pick up and a long line of slugs waiting. I have waited 15+ minutes on several occasions to pick up riders just because things move so slow.
I applaude the pioneers who split the DC/VA lines but I think there is still work to be done in order to get the VA line moving faster. Walking the line does help things move faster as long as riders call out the destinations and as long as it is safe for the riders to walk among the cars.

I can reiterate some good suggestions I have read here but it will take a veteran slugger to implement successful change:
1. cars should pull all the way forward to the end of the island when they pick up and the slug line direction should form accordingly like at the pentagon.
2. If it is possible to work out the logistics of another location then splitting the VA into 2 lines would be helpful.
3. Maybe we could get signs posted after new location(s) are established, that would help everyone.

I think that each of us can be part of the problem or part of the solution. I don't arrive early enough to establish anything new but I would be willing to help work on the sign issue.[:)]
Admin View Drop Down
New Slug
New Slug

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Admin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2003 at 7:05am
Alexis,