Slug-Lines.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General Slugging Questions and Comments > Afternoon Slug Lines
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Kingstowne / Manchester Lakes  / Springfield Mall
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Kingstowne / Manchester Lakes / Springfield Mall

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
New Slug
New Slug

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GregP Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Kingstowne / Manchester Lakes / Springfield Mall
    Posted: 19 Nov 2014 at 11:33am
Hello All,

I'm a newbie to "slugging". I just started working in DC again after many years working in the 'burbs and commute into DC solo in the a.m. but sitting on I-395 at 4:15 pm just doesn't cut it for me anymore. Ergo, I decided to pick up riders (slugs) in the evening and it's working quite well for me, thus far.

I've scoured slug-lines.com for the various destinations in / around Springfield as I live in the direction of Kingstowne. The most convenient location I've found is "Bob's" and, as mentioned, that works quite well.

I've seen what I believe is a(n) (very old) announcement for starting a slug line at Springfield Mall (now known as Springfield Towne Center) adjacent to the parking garage at Macy's / Dick's Sporting Goods (Regal Theater) bordering on Spring Mall Road and Frontier Drive. Interestingly enough, this is an offical "Park and Ride" location. From what I've gathered through reading the site, this never really got off the ground. Is that true or is this location currently "active"? If this location is active, where are the drop off and pickup locations in DC?