Print Page | Close Window

VA enforces VA tint law on MD car

Printed From: Slug-Lines.com
Category: General Slugging Questions and Comments
Forum Name: General Slugging Topics
Forum Description: This is the area for all general slugging comments. To add a comment simply create a new topic or see FAQ for detailed information on how to post comments.
URL: http://www.slug-lines.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4735
Printed Date: 19 May 2024 at 6:33pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.10 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: VA enforces VA tint law on MD car
Posted By: fnk1481
Subject: VA enforces VA tint law on MD car
Date Posted: 13 Jul 2010 at 5:19pm
I was pulled over by a VA state trooper who said he couldn't see if I had the required number of passengers in my car because my tint is too dark. I had 2 slugs in my car. My tint is 35%. 35% is not dark. My car is tagged and titled in MD. I have a MD address on my MD driver's license. I am a legal resident of MD. MD tint law allows us to tint our windows down to 35%. VA tint law allows you to tint your windows down to 50%. According to the cop, VA enforces its tint law on all cars in VA, even cars just driving through. I asked why. This is the analogy he replied with: the speed limit in MD is 55, but the speed limit in VA is 70, so when you get to MD, you abide by their speed limit. Stupid analogy. Changing your car's speed when you enter a different state is doable. Changing your tint when you enter a different state is not. Basically, the cop (and VA law) imply that their law trumps MD law. This isn't legal. This law isn't logical. IT ISN'T LOGICAL. If there is logic in this that I don't see, please reply. Please don't reply with your opinions. I don't care what your opinion is. I need logic. This law doesn't make any sense to me. Also, please don't reply with questions about my personal life, like why I was picking up slugs in VA. That's none of your business. I just need to know what is logical about this law. In th