Slug-Lines.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General Slugging Questions and Comments > General Slugging Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Unbelievable

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
Author
New Slug
New Slug

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CBlue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Unbelievable
    Posted: 01 Aug 2003 at 9:59am
I'm pretty new to slugging, having done it for a little under a week, but I had to tell people what happened yesterday evening.

I was waiting at the Fredericksburg/Rt. 3 line at the Pentagon and a very nice woman who already had one passenger, her child, offered to take 3. Me, another woman, and a man got in. From the driver's comments, I ascertained that she had picked up the other woman and man before. Anyway, we were driving down 95 when the van we were riding in stalled. The man immediately asked the woman he was sitting next to to get out because he wanted to get out. I thought he was going to look under the hood and see what was happening. I was totally shocked when he waved down another car, got in, and left! I consider myself somewhat of a feminist. It's not that I think he should have stayed with the poor, defenseless females, but common decency would dictate that he should have remained with the driver until help had come. But no, he was outta there as fast as he could be. I know the lure of slugging to some is the anonimity of the process. You don't have to talk or get involved with anyone in the car, but I do believe you owe the person who gave you the ride the respect of remaining with them until everybody is okay. Am I wrong?

We did manage to get home. The driver's husband rescued us and everything ended fine. My thanks to the school teacher from Spotsy County, her "slugbuddy," and her daughter for a lesson in making the best of a bad situation. They were great to talk with. Also thanks to the school teacher's husband.